History of Racquetball

Historical Timeline

Detailed Historical Timeline



Magazine Covers

Print Media


Like us on Facebook Like us on


US Racquetball Foundation

Visit the US Racquetball Foundation


USA Racquetball AssociationVisit the USA Racquetball Website


Historical Timeline

Joseph Sobek1949:  Joseph Sobek, professional tennis and handball player, created a set of rules based on those of squash and handball and called it “paddle rackets.”

1950:  Sobek, using the tennis racket as a pattern, developed plans for a new, short strung racket.

1952:  Sobek founded the National Paddle Rackets Association.  He codified a set of rules and printed them into booklets and sent them out to continue the promotion of his new sport.

1968:  Sobek connected with Robert Kendler, head of U.S. Handball Association. Kendler was very interested in the new sport.
1968:  Sobek held The First Gut-Strung Paddle Rackets National Championship in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

Robert Kendler1969:  Robert Kendler founded the International Racquetball Association. New paddle racket regulations were being discussed.
1969:  The sport officially had its new name, Racquetball, coined by San Diego tennis pro, Bob McInerny.
1969:  The first IRA National Singles was held in St. Louis, Missouri.
1969:  Dayton Glove and Racquet introduced the first metal racquet.

1970:  Bud Held, with Ektelon, introduced his first metal racquet, “Bud Muehleisen.”          

1971:  Aluminum alloy frames were introduced. The total racquet dimensions (length and width) averaged about 26 inches.

1972:  The first pro tour was formed.
Leach Swinger1972:  Fiberglass frames were introduced from Leach, located in San Diego.
1972:  The National Singles was held in Memphis, Tennessee.

1973:  After a dispute with the board of directors, Kendler parted ways with the IRA and formed the National Racquetball Club.

1974:  IRA held first pro tournament.
1974:  A new membership requirement was established for all sanctioned tournaments.  IRA membership was $3.00 per year.
1974:  The number of amateur players in the United States jumped to an estimated 3 million.

1976:  Kendler also founded the U.S. Racquetball Association (USRA) as a rival amateur organization that only lasted until 1982.
1976:  Seamco 444 becomes the official racquetball ball of the IRA.

1979:  The IRA changed its name to American Amateur Racquetball Association (AARA).
1979:  The International Amateur Racquetball Federation (now just called the International Racquetball Federation) was formed, and it included 14 countries.
1979:  Graphite frames were introduced.

1980:  The men’s pro tour was established along with the Women’s Professional Racquetball Association (WPRA).

1981:  The World Games I and The First Racquetball World Championships were held in Santa Clara, California.  The United States wins first World Cup over 6 other countries.
1981:  Penn introduces the “Ultra Blue” racquetball ball.

1982:  AARA was accepted as member of the U.S. Olympic Committee.
1982:  AARA signs racquet sponsorship with Diversified Products.

Ektelon Contra-oversized racquet1984:  The United States wins World Championships over 13 countries in Sacramento, California.
1984:  Ektelon introduces and test markets the oversized racquet.
1984:  Match rules changed from 21 points to 15 points per game, with 11 point tiebreaker.

1985:  The International Olympic Committee recognized the sport of racquetball.

1986:  A new mandatory eye guard rule is passed.
1986:  The United States and Canada tie to share the World Cup in Orlando, Florida where 20 countries competed.
1986:  The Pan American Racquetball Confederation (PARC) was formed.

1987:  The First AARA National Leadership Conference held at the U.S. Olympic Training Center.

1988:  The United States National Team wins World Cup over 22 countries.
1988:  AARA televises its National Championships for the first time ever.

1989:  Racquetball was granted full member status within the U.S. Olympic Committee. 
1989:  As the 38th sport, racquetball makes its premiere U.S. Olympic Festival appearance in Oklahoma City.

1990:  The United States wins 5th World Cup in Caracas, Venezuela over 28 countries.

1991:  AARA telecasts ten national events on cable channels.
1991:  The Unites States Team Alumni Association is formed.
1991:  Racquetball was placed on the schedule for the Pan American Games in 1995.

Racquetball Magazine-US wins 6th World Cup1992:  The United States wins 6th World Cup in Montreal over 33 countries.

1993:  AARA celebrates 25th Silver Anniversary.

1994:  The United States wins 7th World Cup in San Luis Potosi over 27 countries.
1994:  IRF adopts “one serve” rules in international competition.

1995:  Racquetball makes its debut in the Pan American Games in Buenos Aires, Argentina, and the United States National Team sweeps medal count.

1996:  U.S. Open Racquetball Championships debut in Memphis with pros and amateurs in a single event, played on a specially-constructed “made for TV” glass court.
1996:  The United States wins 8th World Cup team title.

1997:  The IRA changes its name again to United States Racquetball Association (USRA).
1997:  USRA changes rule to allow oversized frames of 22” in length.  Total length and width is approximately 32”, about 25% larger than original racquets which resulted in 50% more hitting area for more power.

1998:  The United States wins 9th World Cup team title.

1999:  The United States sweeps medal platform again at the 13th Pan American Games held in Winnipeg.

2000:  Canada wins the 10th World Cup team title for the first time over the U.S.
2000:  The Ladies Professional Racquetball Association was formed under the guidance of the USRA.

2003:  The IRA changed its name for the final time to USA Racquetball (USAR).

2010:  Newly designed all glass portable court makes U.S. Open debut at new location in Minneapolis.


Previous Page